Editorial Board

The Journal of the Geological Society of India is a premier earth science journal which publishes peer -reviewed articles under the category of Review papers, Research papers, News and Notes, Discussion, Correspondence and Book Review. The articles published deal with all branches of Earth System Science. The journal is published every month constituiting two volumes per year.

 Chief Editor

Prof. B. Mahabaleswar
No.63, 12th Cross, Basappa Layout, Gavipuram P.O.
P.O. Box 1922, Bangalore - 560 019, India
Email: editorjournalgsi@gmail.com

 Associate Editors List

S. No.AreaName and address of the Associate Editor
1. Structural Geology and tectonics Prof. Manish  A.  Mamtani
Department of Geology & Geophysics
Indian Institute of Technology
Kharagpur-721302, West Bengal, India
E-mail (1): mamtani@gg.iitkgp.ac.in
E-mail (2): mamtani.manish@gmail.com
Phone: (Off) +91-3222-283388
Mobile: +91-9434758963
Fax: +91-3222-282700 / 255303
2. Paleontology Prof. Rajeev Patnaik
Centre of Advanced Study in Geology,
Panjab University, Chandigarh-160014, India.
Ph:+91-172-2534250 (O)
Mobile: +91-9815104094
E-mail: rajeevpatnaik@gmail.com
3. Economic Geology and Coal geology Prof. Prakash K Singh
MP Singh Lab of Coal & Organic Petrology
Centre of Advanced Study in Geology
Banaras Hindu University
Varanasi-221005, Uttar Pradesh, India
Ph: 0542-2368946 (R)
0542- 6701350 (O)
Mobile: +91-9935819700
Email: prakashbhu@rediffmail.com
alternate e-mail: prakash18bhu@gmail.com
4. Sedimentology and Stratigraphy Dr. G. M. Bhat
BOS in Geology, Department of Geology,
University of Jammu,
Jammu - 180 001, Jammu & Kashmir.
Mob : +91-09419200120,
E-mail: bhatgm1@rediffmail.com
5. Hydrocarbons Prof. Rima Chatterjee
Head, Department of Applied Geophysics
Indian Institute of Technology
(Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad -826004, India
Phone: 0326 2235493 (O);   0326 2235593 (R)
0326 2296563 (Central Fax)
Mobile: +91-9431914215
E-mail:  rima_c_99@yahoo.com
6. Geomorphology, Remote sensing and GIS Dr. Pradeep Srivastava
Scientist-E, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology
33, GMS Road, Dehradun 248001, India
Mobile:+91- 9412058165
Email: pradeep@wihg.res.in (primary)
Alternative email: pradeep71s@rediffmail.com
7. Igneous and metamorphic Petrology Prof. Sandeep Singh
Department of Earth Sciences
Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Roorkee - 247 667, INDIA
Phone: +91-1332-285559  (off.) 285086 (res.)
Mobile:  +91-9412073043
Fax: +91-1332-273560
E-mail:  san662005@gmail.com
8. Hydrogeology Sri Subhajyoti Das
Retd. Director, Central Ground Water Board
M 901, HM Tambourine,
No.28 Jaraganahalli, J.P. Nagar 6th Phase,
Kanakpura Main Road, Bangalore - 560 078
Mobile: +91-9980195750
E-mail: subhajyoti_das@hotmail.com
9. Geochemistry and geochronology Dr. E.V.S.S.K. Babu
Senior Principal Scientist & In-Charge
Geochronology & Isotope Studies Group
CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute
Uppal Road, Hyderabad – 500007, India
Tel: +91-40-27012894 (off.), 27733515 (Res.)
Mobile: +91-9441535852
Fax: +91-40-23434651
E-mail: evsskbabu@gmail.com
10. Geophysics Dr. Ajay Manglik
Chief Scientist (CSIR-NGRI) & Professor (AcSIR)
CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute
Uppal Road, Hyderabad - 500007, India.
Tel.: +91-40-27012884
Mobile: +91-9490925005
Email: ajay@ngri.res.in 
11. Quaternary geology and climate change Dr. Hema Achyuthan 
Institute for Ocean Management
Anna University, Chennai 600 025
Phone: +91-9382849662
E-mail: hachyuthan0@gmail.com
12. Engineering geology Dr. Ajay Kumar Naithani
HOD, Engineering Geology Department
National Institute of Rock Mechanics
Eshwar Nagar, Outer Ring Road
Banashankari 2nd Stage, Bengaluru – 560 070, India 
Mob. +91 9481434153
Phone: +91 80 2693 4411 (Off.)
Fax: +91 80 2693 4401 (Off.)
E-mail: anaithania@gmail.com
13. Marine geology Dr. S. Rajan
Former Director, National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research, Headland Sada, Goa - 403 804
"Santhi", Kailas Nagar,  Kalpathi,
Palakkad - 678003, Kerala.
Mobile: +91 9545509861
E-mail: rajan.ncaor@gmail.com
14. Seismology Dr. Prantik Mandal
Chief Scientist and Activity In-charge,
Seismological Imaging Group
Room No.242, Extension Building
CSIR-NGRI, Hyderabad-500007,
Telangana, India
E-mail: prantikmandal62@gmail.com

Geological Society of India


The Geological Society of India was established on 28th May 1958 to promote the cause of advanced study and research in all branches of Earth System Science. The Journal of the Society is its flagship publication. The Society also publishes Memoirs, Text books, Economic Geology Series, Field Guides and Regional language publications. The Society has three classes of membership (1) Fellows (Annual and Life membership); (2) Honorary Fellows and (3) Corporate Members. Fellows are elected once a year by the Council. In order to recognize and encourage outstanding talent, the Society has instituted several awards through voluntary donors in different branches of Earth System Science.