The Geological Society of India

S.M.Naqvi Gold Medal

S.M. Naqqvi Gold Medal was instituted in the name of outstanding scientist late Dr. S.M. Naqvi who contributed extensively in the field of Precambrian Geology. He was associated with the Society in various capacities till his passing away in September 2009. Dr. S.M Naqvi Gold Medal will be awarded once in two years to a scientist below the age of 60 years for outstanding contributions in any field of Indian Geology.
  • 2012: Deferred;
  • 2013: Talat Ahmad, Srinagar and Arun Kumar, Imphal
  • 2015: R.P.Tiwari, H.S.Gaur University, Sagar
  • 2017: Birendra Pratap Singh, BHU, Varanasi
  • 2019: G.M. Bhat, Jammu University, Jammu
  • 2022: Danda Srinivas Rao, CSIR-IMMT, Bhubaneswar